Book Club

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 7.41.40 PM

“Book Talk” – BJUMC Book Discussion Group – All are Welcome

Meetings: Second Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the Church Conference Room; please Contact Janet Kaefer (click name for email), for any information or suggestions. “Newbies” welcome! Dinner: Ridge Restaurant across the street at 5:30 p.m. for anyone (even if you’re not involved with the Book Discussion group)–and all who can make it. RSVP to Carol Lutes, 908-580-0414; or 908-672-4600, for a place at the table.

February 21st: Signs for Lost Children by Sarah Ross

Shortlisted for the Wellcome Prize for Historical Fiction

Award-winning author Sarah Moss’s most recent work of historical fiction is a portrait of a young couple’s unconventional marriage as it’s tested by separate quests for identity in work and life. Set in the Victorian Age, Signs for Lost Children grapples with central themes of early feminism, mental health reform, and marriage as an imposed institution.

 

March 14th: Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.